//
you're reading...
Homeschool

Reading Street at our Homeschool

Our 6 1/2 year old Chipmunk is an extremely fast learner with comprehension skills on a 5th grade level. This means keeping her challenged during school can be a chore at times. Reading Street is an all in one learning program for grades K-6, that incorporates Science and Social Studies with Language Arts skills.We care currently using the 2nd grade book for Chipmunk. She loves the program but certain areas of the curriculum don’t challenge her enough.

This week we have changed our daily school schedule a bit. Instead of me reading the main selection on Mondays, us taking turns to read the story again on Tuesday and Wednesday, and doing leveled readers on Thursdays and Fridays I have found something that she is already enjoying. Google is my friend (so is Bing) so to my friends I turn and find some helpful resources. 

Into my Google Chrome omnibox I enter reading street 2nd grade. The results return and I hear angels in my head. The first link is packed full of resources to supplement the Reading Street curriculum. I scroll down and see green yellow and blue seatwork. I decide to click on yellow (reading group for kids that read on grade level) to see what this is all about. The pdf loads with 4 categories of individual work that corresponds to the weekly story. Under word work I read that the student has to located the words for the week in the main selection, therefor forcing them to read and really pay attention to what they are reading so they know what sentences to copy for the words.

This is the first thing we have been doing each day, along with a 5 minute discussion about what Chipmunk read. Today she said “Momma I really like the way we are doing the Reading Street story of the week”.  As the teacher I can tell that it is working because she can recall more details about the story and memorizes the high frequency words for the week quickly. I give her 15 minutes to work by herself and i have to say this is a hit!

About 2aprilkids

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Reading Street at our Homeschool

  1. We just started using reading street 2008 (?) last week. My 7 year old is also an avid reader. I got tired of reinventing the wheel for him lol, so I decided why not try a reading curriculum by the same publisher as our science. We LOVE the science because its a wonderful balance between his love of reading, and my desire for simplicity.
    Back to Reading Street, my son is overall a 3rd grade reader. He is not however a 3rd grade write. I started to use the 2nd grade curriculum but the writing was just too challenging for him so I switched down to Unit 5 of the first grade material. I am still waiting on the Read Aloud Anthology to come in the mail. Last week, when we were on 2nd grade material, I found the stories online but this week I only found a video recording of the book so directions like turn to page x didn’t work so well.
    How do you find the writing activities? Since we’re jumping in at the end of the book I am finding that the pacing is certainly different than what we have done. For example this week focused on exclamations and reviewed questions where as we did the reverse since he is super! with exclamations and finds it a challenge to compose questions sometimes.
    I would say my son is a below level writer, on level speller and above lever reader. I was thinking 2nd grade material was a good compromise but again the writing was a problem. Have you had to adapt any areas? If so how did you do so?

    Posted by Jessica Chavez | March 15, 2012, 5:03 pm
    • Hi Jessica,
      When we started Reading Street we jumped in at Unit 6 of the 1st grade book. Before that we were using the Spectrum workbooks for writing which easily incorporates Grammar skills. Thanks to the Spectrum workbooks my Chipmunk was ahead when we started RS second grade edition and the concepts didn’t seem so confusing. Check out for activities and worksheets to help reinforce those skills. She is a teacher that has collaborated with other teachers to create an extensive resource for Reading Street 2008. I still use the Spectrum writing workbooks to supplement because the RS writing program is lacking.
      For writing practice I like to use a variation of Writers Workshop to supplement the main selection, this gets her used to the writing process as a whole. I take the writing activity for the week, adjust if needed (easier or harder) then each day is a different day in the writing process with Friday being final copy day. Some weeks its just different journal topics everyday, to practice getting as much detail out of a thought as possible. We also switch back and forth with the group activities. You may want him to use the below level group writing activities for extra practice. This helps Chipmunk a lot when she seems lost.
      As far as finding the books if your local school district uses Reading Street then they should be available at your local library. It is also possible to view them online via RS 2012 and Pearson Successnet. Let me know if you’re interested. I hope this helps, and let me know if you have any more questions.

      Posted by chellesnell | March 16, 2012, 12:21 am

Leave a Reply

About 2AprilKids Momma

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

