//
you're reading...
Homeschool

Reading and Comprehension Growth

My husband and I know our Chipmunk is smart. She learns fast, and loves learning. Couple this a healthy love of reading and adding YouTube videos to supplement our curriculum and she is in education heaven.

That statement is coming from a homeschool parent’s perspective.  Each subject is taught to her differently ( I will expand on this in a later post). For reading and Language Arts we use Pearson’s Reading Street grade 2 and I have found multiple resources that enable me as the teacher to customize the curriculum  in a way that makes it challenging and fun. Lately she has been doing various seat work activities that involve reading the main selection independently and looking for various high frequency words, certain phonics words, spelling words ecetera. For her this is exciting because she never knows what she is on the hunt for and another skill gained from this is working independently and achieving successful results.

Yesterday she had to look for words that fit a particular phonics pattern. Chipmunk found 20 in 3 pages; which is excellent considering this is the first time she’s read the book. Even more impressive was her ability to recall the facts the way she did and put them in chronological order as they appeared in the book. When asked how she recalled this information she says ” I remember the words I read”. I’m thinking that she picks up on various keywords and they get commited to memory in phrases so when she needs the info she can remember the phrases. Some of the information about the book she was retelling was retold to me in phrases that were written in the book. This gives me more information about why she learns so well with worksheet/workbook activities, and flashcards.

The “seat work” mention in this post can be found at Mrs. Lewis Cyber Classroom. Scroll down to Reading Street Resources for Teachers and select your student’s grade level. Once you have selected your grade level scroll down to the section of the page that list activities and resources for each story. Here you will find the seat work activities based on reading level for the grade.

About 2aprilkids

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

About 2AprilKids Momma

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

