//
you're reading...
Homeschool, Sewing, DIY Projects for the Kids

Beginnings of a Space Themed Bedroom

The Chipmunk and I have been discussing what gender neutral theme would be good for her and Baby Dude. This opened up talks of Strawberry Shortcake and Sesame Street, and Mickey and Minnie Mouse. Now, the latter of the two felt a little better than the first one but still ended in a discontent momma. Later, I phoned  my mother for our weekly check-in. After quite  few minutes of “Hey how’s it goin” conversation I told her about the discussion I had with Chipmunk earlier in the day. I also tell her that I had figured space and the solar system would be really cool, considering Chipmunk is a space hound and it’s a good theme for a boy. To this Uma (grandma) agreed. When I was finished running my ideas by her she even said she couldn’t wait to see the end result.

Fast foward. Same night, around 8pm. “Hey Chipmunk have you thought about that space theme some more”? “No, momma I don’t want to do that.” So, I still hadn’t gotten through to her. Me: “Ok well, sleep on it and I’ll ask you again in the morning.”

The next morning…

“Hey Chipmunk have you thought about the theme for your room some more?” Her: “Yeah.” “I think space will be really cool ’cause we can make the room look like all of the stuff we talked about for school and I can use it to help teach Baby Dude about the solar system and astronauts!” All of that said with extreme excitement over the teaching Baby Dude part.

With that being said, let me introduce to you Project 1:

Orbiting Planets

The sun has a brad in the middle so you can orbit the planets around it, similar to making an analog clock. I will probably put this on the wall as in interactive activity/decoration.

About 2aprilkids

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

About 2AprilKids Momma

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

