//
you're reading...
Cloth Diapers to Potty Training

#FlatsChallenge Day 1 and Day 2

So at the last minute I finally decided to sign up for the #flatschallenge hosted by Dirty Diaper Laundry. Now that Baby Dude is here and is six weeks old he is big enough to fit one size diapers well so I figured why not? For those of you that don’t know about the Flats and Handwashing Challenge it lasts one week and you are only allowed to use flat diapers (one big piece of cloth) made out of anything but microfiber. Microfiber absorbs at a fast rate but would not be practical for parents on WIC, so there is your reason behind why it is not allowed. I happen to disagree due to the fact that you can find microfiber towels in automotive departments in most retail stores.

Back when Chipmunk was born (7 years ago) we were on WIC and struggling to afford diapers. Luckily my mother taught me to be resourceful, so receiving blankets and t-shirts were often used as makeshift diapers. There were times when clothes and our standby diapers had to be washed in the bathtub  Having experienced this is the main reason why I feel driven to participate in the Second Annual Flats and  Handwashing Challenge. If I could do it out of necessity then, I better be able to participate in this challenge and bring awareness to cloth diapering now!

It’s Day 2 and I’m happy to report that all is going well. I have even managed to pull off doing flats at night inside a Kawaii Pure and Natural. Baby Dude woke up totally dry after being asleep for around 8 hours straight!

My #flatschallenge diaper stash consists of Gerber birdseye flats purchased from Target, receiving blankets, a couple of hemp babies flats, flour sacks purchased 5 for $5 from Walmart and flannel flats I sewed before Baby Dude was born. For covers I have been using Grovia shells during the day and Kawaii Pure and Natural’s at night.  A pad folded/newspaper folded birdseye flat combined with a 100% cotton washcloth works well during the day. This combination also keeps the diaper pretty trim. Last night I used one of my homemade flannel flats pad folded with a washcloth folded into quarters was bulletproof.

As for handwashing, it’s been a breeze. I normally use a cat litter pail as my diaper pail so I dumped it and  got started. First I ran some hot water in the pail with a little Rockin’ Green and did a pre-soak for about 15-30 minutes. After that I dumped the pail again, ran some more hot water,added more detergent and rocked the pail for 5 minutes every other 5 minutes for a total of 30 minutes. Dump again, fill with warm water, rock pail again,rinse cycle done.

Now time for wringing out the diapers. The only thing I really have to say about it is don’t fol the diapers too much when wringing them out. The more you fold the less water you get out.

About 2aprilkids

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Preparing for the CHALLENGE!!! | SkittlesMomma - May 19, 2013

Leave a Reply

About 2AprilKids Momma

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

