//
you're reading...
Cloth Diapers to Potty Training

Flats Challenge Day 1: Why Am I Doing This

I have been there, done that, washed that, wiped that, soaked that, line dried that, hung in the bathroom to dry that, and then some. There once was a time for my family when washing clothes at a laundry mat, and buying disposable diapers meant no food. We were living in a crappy mobile home located on the premises of an even shadier looking motel, owned by some pretty strange people. In an effort to save disposable diapers and training pants for outings, I used receiving blankets,burp cloths, and t-shirts as diapers. My daughter was around 18 months old then. As soon as she soiled a “diaper” I would remove it and handwash in the tub. After that said diaper was laid out on the front porch to dry. I had never been so thankful for living in the South; the diapers didn’t take long to dry. 

Our family has come a long way in 7 1/2 years. We now have a 13 month old Little Dude who is constantly on the move. He is cloth diapered full time. The choice was made before he was born. I am so glad we decided to cloth diaper him instead of trying to go the disposable route again. We never stress over being out of diapers. The only rash like situation I’ve come across is some blistering due to chafing from overnight diapering (he rolls a lot in his sleep) and we are keeping diapers out of landfills. To top it all off I’ve helped introduce a few people to modern cloth diapering and have converted them to at least part time cding.

I am very proud of the older wiser me that now has a washing machine and dryer at home (I still line dry when it’s hot enough though). I am taking the challenge so I never forget where we’ve been and to celebrate where we are now. I’d like to thank Kim Rosas of Dirty Diaper Laundry for such a novel idea in bringing awareness to low income families ability to cloth diaper.

About 2aprilkids

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

About 2AprilKids Momma

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

