//
you're reading...
Cloth Diapers to Potty Training

Flats and Handwashing Challenge 2013 Day 2: Supplies and Preparation

in order from left to right: 2 receiving blankets, 10 flour sack towels, 4 lightweight t-shirt diapers, 6 heavyweight t-shirt diapers.

in order from left to right: 2 receiving blankets, 10 flour sack towels, 4 lightweight t-shirt diapers, 6 heavyweight t-shirt diapers.

In an earlier post I mentioned using flats on my son daily. I don’t use any of the name brands you will find at online or brick and mortar retail shops. Flour sack towels  from Wal-Mart work great for us.  Yes, they are meant for absorbing water from wet dishes without leaving lint behind. In that case, why not use them as diapers? Exactly. Right now I have 10 of them (sold 5 for $6.00 at my local Wal-Mart), along with 10 t-shirt flats that I cut from my husband’s wardrobe (1 shirt makes 2 flats). The shirt flats are 28 x 28 and are cut from Fruit of the Loom Heavyweight T-shirts. This shirts weigh 5.4 ounces which makes them REALLY good for overnight diapering when you need more absorbancy. If you pad fold a flour sack towel with one of these shirts you have the perfect overnight cloth diaper.

Now, let’s talk covers. Lately I haven’t been using them. When my Little Dude came had some blisters pop up on his penis his pediatrician figured it was a fungal infection and suggested a little diaper free time. In addition to that I let Little Dude go without a cover and I realized I like it. It let’s me know immediately when he needs a new diaper and he seems a lot more comfortable. No, going coverless does not leave wet spots or puddles on the floor. Letting him go coverless while using a flour sack towel fastened with a Boingo does warrant using a doubler for extra absorbancy (just in case). For a doubler I just use the cheap Wl-Mart washcloths folded in half and laid inside the diaper before I fasten it. I do use covers for going out,  playtime on the bed, bedtime, etc. I love the covers by Sweet Pea Diapers. They have double gussets and fit my little guy’s small frame really well. I also have a couple of Bumkins one size covers with velcro. I love leaving those in the diaper bag for outings. The velcro is heavy duty, and they have flaps on the inside for holding your flat diaper still when it is pad folded.At night I use 2 Econobum  covers, or the 1 fleece cover I made using my sewing machine. I find these to be the covers that offer the most breathability at night. This is very important because the more air that can circulate through your overnight diapers the less chance you will be dealing with a rash. I plan on making some fleece shorties for overnight use pretty soon.

Black Cover: Sweet Pea Diapers Blue cover with circles: Bumkins White Cover: Econobum

Black Cover: Sweet Pea Diapers Blue cover with circles: Bumkins White Cover: Econobum

That sums up our diapering supplies, minus the set of pins and extra Boingos for fastening. Due to the fact that I had all of these things on hand and they were already being used there was no preparation on my part. Instead of using the bathtub for washing I am using the cat litter pail that I normally use as a diaper pail.

Want more info on finding and making t-shirt diapers? Take a look at this post from Dirty Diaper Laundry the host of the challenge. Going coverless can be healthier too, Learn more here.

About 2aprilkids

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

About 2AprilKids Momma

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

