//
you're reading...
Cloth Diapers to Potty Training

Cloth Diapers… Rash or Chaffing???

prefold in coverLet me start by saying Bing and I have a great relationship. I search the internet and Bing rewards me by giving me points I can use in place of cash. It also rewards me with answers to questions I might have, new recipes, craft projects, etc. Unfortunately there is one question Bing did not help me solve. What are the little white blisters on Little Dude’s wee wee?

Next, came a visit to the pediatrician’s office. As a result came a prescription for Nystatin that really didn’t help much. Back to the drawing board. After two days of paying very close attention to any new blisters popping up or old ones going away I noticed the blisters were worse after spending 10+ hours in an overnight diaper. During the day they would get better because I change him every 2 hours.

Giving my super toddler one hour of diaperless time per day helped but did not completely rid him of blisters. Using just flat diapers and going coverless during the day has helped a great deal. Going coverless with prefolds did just as well. A cloth diapered child that has no cover on his bum is not the end of the world. You don’t end up with wet spots or puddles on your floor. Instead, you notice “Hey you need a diaper.” much sooner than you would with a cover. If  child is wearing a diaper that fits their absorbancy needs everything in his/her diaper world is ok without a cover.

My guess is with the weather getting warmer and Little Dude being an active crawling/walking/climbing toddler there’s a whole lot of friction going on. Eliminating PUL covers during the day has helped a lot! Econobum PUL is not very thick, so these are the covers I use overnight for now and Little Dude’s wee wee looks great. Add in baby powder or some cornstarch at every change to help give him some protection (Vaseline and CJ’s Butter didn’t work) and we have found our solution after much trial and error.

Now I need to get on a new project. Bigger fleece covers or shorties for night-time.

About 2aprilkids

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

About 2AprilKids Momma

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

