//
you're reading...
Cloth Diapers to Potty Training

Potty Training Boys (in 3 days)

I’m sitting looking at my then 17 and half month old son thinking “You’re one smart little dude!”. After that my thoughts change to “Dang, another diaper change of chasing you around because you don’t want a diaper”. Yeah, I’ve been there. Once those thoughts passed I told Bing to help me get him potty trained fast. Bing’s top results com in the form of the Potty Train in 3 days method.

First off, I’d like to remind you that it is ok if it does not work for you. Secondly, don’t let the name of the method fool you. Most of the time this method only works for daytime training and you will still have occasional accidents. Now, on to the juicy stuff. April Momma’s tips on potty training boys in 3 days.

Step 1.

Decide on what type of underwear or lack of you want to use. With this method you will eighty-six the diapers. Some parents use diapers for naps and overnight and some parents don’t. With Topher I did just to make it easy on him because of his age. This also comes into play when you decide to go on an outing. Topher loves character underwear so we purchased 4 packs and I used preemie prefolds as inserts. They worked like a charm, even better once I sewed them into the underwear. For the actual 3 day training period Topher was in his birthday suit.

Step 2.

Not all potty chairs or seats are created equal. One of the top rated potty training chairs for boys only costs approximately twelve dollars and can be found at Walmart, Target, and Amazon. Meet the Fisher Price Froggy potty training seat. This seat has a detachable drop in pot and a high splash guard to make catching the pee and disposing of it a breeze.

frogpotty

We also have the Once Upon a Potty potty training seat that we picked up from a local thrift shop and it works great for Topher too.  This was the seat he started with and it was perfect considering he was so small. The splash guard is nice and high and it sits low to the floor. You can even search Youtube for videos of the book being read. There are apps available for download in the App Store (Apple i devices only), to help supplement your potty learning process.

onceuponapotty

 

Step 3.

Figure out the best time frame for you and your little one. If your family has recently had ANY changes or life has been a little hectic recently I suggest waiting until things settle down for a bit. Potty learning can be stressful for kids too. Pick a 3 day stretch when you know you have nothing going on and can devote all of your attention to the potty learner; the constant attention will help you catch when your little one is about to go or has just started going.

*Now tips for the actual training process*

  • Stay consistent
  • It’s ok to have multiple potty training boot camps  if you need to. (Topher is 25 months and has had no accidents when he doesn’t have anything covering his bottom. As of this post its only been a couple of days since he had an accident in underwear)
  • Teaching boys to pee sitting down first may work easier for you. (We did this with Topher and suddenly today, after months of watching Dad pee, he peed standing up twice today).
  • If you are having 4-5 accidents on day 3 your child may not be ready, try again later.
  • Training you child to use the potty has to do with readiness, on both parts.
  • Having a couple of potty seats in the house can pay off. As mentioned of above Topher has two. One stays in the bathroom and the other moves around depending on which room he is in. Putting a potty seat in a central location between where your child likes to hang out the most and the bathroom also works well. In an emergency pit stop this can save you from a  major mess.

After using the 3 day method Topher was daytime potty trained without underwear or anything else on his tush. The minute he put even a loose pair of shorts or sweatpants on it was over. So, I did a little trial and error with his underwear. If he felt like it was too snug he hated trying to get them down. Training underwear with too much padding just became a cloth pull up. Cool prints are a must and boxer briefs are awesome. Mom’s handmade training shorts are even more awesome! Taking a cue from making Topher fleece cloth diaper covers last summer, I made him some training underwear from the same pattern. The sewn in soaker consists of two layers of t-shirt and one layer of fleece for a nice absorbent middle that will let him know immediately when he is wet. They are made from licensed one hundred percent cotton t-shirt and have some pretty cool designs. A few of these will be up for sale as soon as possible as I continue to build business and  make more.

julius

orangecampundies

 

I hope my tips have given you some insight on potty training your wonderful little boy. It can feel like an uphill battle sometimes but hang in there.

About 2aprilkids

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

About 2AprilKids Momma

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

