//
you're reading...
Family and Parenting

Spiderman and Poprocks

Sometimes families need some goofy time. That time when you let your hair down and get crazy for no reason. This morning it was the Cha Cha slide in the living room (courtesy of YouTube). After lunch it was pop rocks time. Topher rarely shows a dislike of any candy or food item. Today he learned he hates pop rocks. He shook his head, stuck out his tongue, closed his eyes tight and eventually spit the loud popping things out into my hand. My big kid Chipmunk took a different approach. “Momma these are loud”! After trying those colorful little candies by themselves I had her try them with a swig of Coca-Cola. The pop rocks where so loud she couldn’t hear herself talk. Instead she wrote me this note:

image

Since September of last year our family has been through hell and high water. My father passed away after long battle with alcoholism , my great uncle passed away, and my husband left us and moved out if state to straighten out his issues with smoking. Yes, it has been worse than bad, but we are making it and having fun times when we can. My husband needed to leave for his health, the health of our relationship and the health of his relationship with our kids. His self enforced ” rehab”  has made me realize that our relationship and love for each other is very strong. I could have very easily cut all ties to him for my own personal reasons but I couldn’t, and I would never tell the kids that they can’t communicate with him. Thanks to modern technology we talk everyday. Facebook messenger and Google Hangouts are awesome. This man truly loves us. I can here it in his voice, and I can see it in his face when we video chat. SincX his departure my grandfather passed away. On top of that my most awesome main dude that we call Daddy had another back surgery. Number 4 to be exact. He is currently residing at in inpatient rehab facility to strengthen his muscles so he may walk again. Yeah, life has thrown us so many lemons lately its ridiculous, but we’re OK because we are family and we help each other together or not.

On a side note, Gopher is rocking his new Spiderman T-shirt. I scored on eBay for $6.25 including shipping. A few nights ago we went to see The amazing Spiderman 2 at our local $2.50 theater and he had a great time! If only the auction mention that the shirt is long sleeve. Oh well, another great shirt for fall.

image

About 2aprilkids

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

About 2AprilKids Momma

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

