//
you're reading...
Real Food on a Budget

Shrimp Scampi – Quick and Easy

For the last couple of months I have been cooking up a storm. I am currently on a mission to serve my family more real food for less. To top it off I am also trying to make recipes that are quick and easy. Tonight I served shrimp scampi and it was a hit. The following is the recipe as stated on the All Recipes website with my own additions and substitutes at the bottom.

Shrimp Scampi V
YIELD

4 servings

ACTIVE TIME

15 mins

TOTAL TIME

25 mins

INGREDIENTS

    • 1 (8 ounce) package angel hair pasta $1.20
    • 1/2 cup butter (on hand)
    • 4 cloves minced garlic (used garlic powder I had on hand)
    • 1 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined (used 1lb from 1.5lbs bag of frozen cooked shrimp $4.50 from BYGO for $8.99 deal)
    • 1 cup dry white wine (used white cooking wine $2.00 from 2/$4 sale)
    • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper (on hand)
    • 3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese (on hand)
    • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley (omitted)
    • Total Cost: $7.70 (actually enough for us to feed 5 or 6 people)

INSTRUCTIONS

    1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Stir in pasta and return pot to boil. Cook until al dente. Drain well.
    2. Melt butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Stir in garlic and shrimp. Cook, stirring constantly, for 3 to 5 minutes.
    3. Stir in wine and pepper. Bring to a boil and cook for 30 seconds while stirring constantly.
    4. Mix shrimp with drained pasta in a serving bowl. Sprinkle with cheese and parsley. Serve immediately.
About 2aprilkids

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

About 2AprilKids Momma

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

