//
you're reading...
Family and Parenting

Top Ten Happenings in My Family 2014

I’ve recently decided to bite the bullet and post something everyday. Even if it is just a “Wordless Wednesday” picture something new will be put on the blog at least once a day. To get a little help with this I like to try the WordPress Daily Post, a daily writing prompt to get WordPress using writing.

This is my response to “Countdown“.

In the last year and a half my family is had some major ups and downs. So my countdown for this post is a list of the top ten events that have happened to us this year.

10. We played in the snow.

For 2 years we were located in Maine and loved it, but since we’ve back in the south we haven’t been able to experience snow. This year we did!

9.  Enjoyed more time with extended family.

My father passed away in September of last year which resulted in moving in with my mother for a year. During that year we got to have some awesome times with extended family we don’t get see as often.

8.  My 9 year old special needs cousin getting the specialized education he needs.

My mom has custody of one my first cousin’s special needs son. This little guy has learning delays, adhd and a few other things going on. The school system they reside in finally agreed to put him in a special education classroom.

7.  Chipmunk is getting better with words that begin and end with the ”r” sound.

As I mentioned above we lived in Maine for awhile. Unfortunately for Chipmunk it was while she was 3 and 4 years old, ages where speech development tends to imitate what you hear. After a lot of practice she is shaking the Mainer accent.

6. April Dad has developed a fan base for his writing.

He puts a lot of time into honing his craft and communicating on social networks. This year he began to see it all pay off.

5. My grandfather passed away.

Earlier this year my mother and I found out my grandfather had a small brain tumor. After some detective work we were able to get him into a full time nursing home facility. Shortly after he had a stroke and never recovered.

4. April Dad successfully made it through his fourth back surgery.

There once was a time when April Dad worked for a hospital as a patient tech. Well, sometimes you have to lift patients and in an emergency situation when no one is listening you take charge and do the lifting by yourself. This event has left a scar in our family history but it has also brought about some cool changes. April Dad gets to be home with the kids and watch them grow up versus work 10-18 hour shifts.

3. Topher aka Baby Dude is daytime potty trained.

2. Our family was separated for 4 months.

Not smoking can make people down right hell to be around. When you combine a heavy smoker with very little money with stress you have a recipe for disaster. April Dad is now a recovering smoker but for the last few years I’ve seen his smoking get worse and worse. The attitude that comes along with not smoking can be down right unbearable. One day I told him he had to go. April Dad left and went back to Alabama while we stayed in Georgia with my mom. That time apart made us realize that we really do love each other and want to raise our kids together.

1. Our family now has a nice, cozy home for just us.

One thing most people can’t live without is family, especially when you are married with kids. April Dad has overcome his smoking addiction and found ways to occupy his “smoke breaks” better. He is also very approachable when we need to talk. After leaving rehab from his back surgery he worked really hard on finding a home for us (the kids and I were still living with my mom in Georgia). Our communication has improved and no one feels like they are walking on egg shells around someone else.

There it is. The top 10 2 April Kids countdown of life events for 2014.

About 2aprilkids

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Merry Christmas! (Top 10 Humour GIFs of to Brighten Your Day) | Ramisa the Authoress - December 25, 2014

Leave a Reply

About 2AprilKids Momma

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

