//
you're reading...
Life Updates

Taking the Plunge… Replacing My Laptop with a Tablet

Yep. I finally did it. One day I looked down at the side of my bed where my rarely used laptop sat and thought, “My day consists of school, mom stuff, blog/internet stuff, Netflix streaming, and gaming. All of these tasks have been done on my tablet lately and dear awesome laptop you are not getting much love at all. That’s it I’m going to sell you now”. I took pictures of it and posted it to eBay later that night. My winning bidder was a college student who really needed a good laptop for school. I’m relieved that a reseller didn’t win it.

Back in 2010 when April Dad and I purchased our amazing matching HP Pavilion dv6 entertainment laptops we knew we were purchasing computers that would be relevant for more than just a couple of years. It turns out we were right, with 8 GB of ram, 2.12 Ghz processor, hdmi output, and over 500GB of hard drive space my laptop took everything I could throw at it. I installed Linux on it without any problems and it ran like a dream. Windows 7 was the OEM operating system of choice and I never once had any problems out of it. The dv6 even ran Windows 8 and Windows 8.1 without a hitch.

Life in my tech world was awesome, until… One day I found myself in line at Best Buy returning my cool 9 inch Lenovo tablet which resulted in a shiny new 10 inch Lenovo tablet arriving at my doorstep a week later. The rest, well you know the drill…

Now here I sit typing this post at my Asus Transformer Pad Infinity Prime 10-inch tablet while connected to a bluetooth keyboard. Also, while using my bluetooth mouse to point and click and drag just as I would on my laptop.

I am really enjoying my new setup. It is a lot more portable than the laptop I had and a heck of an upgrade from the tablet I gave Chipmunk as a Christmas/you treat your laptop like crap so now you can only use a tablet for everything gift. In case you’re wondering Chipmunk was torn about the idea of only having a tablet. Her computer of choice has been her laptop since 2010 (the aftermath of her Toshiba Thrive biting the dust and her pick as a replacement). Yesterday she informed that she also loves using just her tablet for everything too even though she doesn’t have a keyboard or mouse. For me this is a win win situation. No more yelling at Chipmunk about her laptop being left places like the arm of the couch, on the floor on top of the air/heating vent, sitting in a chair for someone to sit on, etc. The other plus, I get a new tablet with all the specs I really wanted in an upgrade. My new tablet has an 8mp rear facing camera, 1920×1200 hd resolution screen, is lightening fast, and can be unlocked to apply a custom rom. I am currently running a vanilla version of Android Kit Kat and I’m loving it.

image

Asus tf700t tablet with Gumdrop Droptech case. Jellycomb illuminated bluetooth keyboard with tablet stand included. There is also a Targus bluetooth mouse. Other accesories I purchased include an Amazon Basics usb 3.0 extension cable, and 10 inch netbook bag. The netbook sleeve on the left is something I've had around for a long time since I owned an Acer d250 netbook.

image

image

This keyboard has 7 different blacklight colors, which come in handy at night when I want to blog or research school lessons.

About 2aprilkids

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

About 2AprilKids Momma

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

