//
you're reading...
Homeschool, Life Updates

We Upgraded to Windows 10 and this Happened…

windows-10-update-iconWe have been a Windows 10 household for 2 weeks now. None of our computers exploded into fiery doom and surprisingly no Blue Screen of Death occurred on any computer.

Our household has 3 laptops and 1 desktop. April Dad is an author so his laptop is his live and he has some very important files and programs he didn’t want to lose. His upgrade was almost painless, except for video playback not working on Facebook and some other sites. YouTube playback works without any issues. I’ve been a Microsoft Insider since the first Windows 10 Technical Preview release so I’ve had no problems upgrading my laptop. Chipmunk’s laptop also upgraded without any issue. The kids and I like doing unit studies and educational games on the desktop that is connected to the television in our living room. This computer had a few problems during upgrade. windows-10-upgrade-tool-100598946-orig

During the initial upgrade process something happened that the upgrade failed. I’m not sure what exactly happened but it failed and the upgraded notification disappeared. Thankfully I still had a Windows 10 Technical Preview thumb drive I created from build 10162. I decided to do a clean install on the desktop and skipped the activation key each time it asked for it. Everything went without a hitch and all was well with the evaluation copy of Win 10.

My next step was downloading the Windows 10 Media Creation tool. With this tool I opted to create a Windows 10 USB flash drive instead a DVD. After the program was finished burning the Windows 10 ISO to the thumb drive I rebooted the computer and set the bios to boot the computer from the USB key. Once the Windows 10 screen loaded I clicked install and off the races we went again. Once again skipping the activation key portion of the installation process. This process finished completely and I was able to sign in using Microsoft Account without any issues.

This installation automatically upgraded! Yay! Before any updates were installed Amazon Prime Instant Video, the Netflix App and videos posted to Facebook worked without errors. After all updates were performed we lost video streaming capabilities on everything but YouTube.  To Bing I went to find a fix. So far, I haven’t read any posts where someone has actually found a fix for the video issues associated with Windows 10.

windows10homescreenSince I hit a brick wall searching for a fix I decided to uninstall the video adaptor driver via the device manager (searched for it using the taskbar search). This rolled the video adaptor driver back to the Microsoft generic driver and once again we had video but it didn’t look very good. The video looks like its 360p.

After searching for an older version of AMD catalyst I found AMD Catalyst Omega. This version of AMD’s video control panel was released in December of 2014. I uninstalled the newest AMD Catalyst software (15.7) and installed AMD Catalyst Omega and IT WORKS! Woohoo! No I can fix April Dad’s video issues (his laptop has an AMD graphics chip too.) Chipmunk and I have Intel based graphic processors and I believe this is why we didn’t have the problem video problems after upgrading and installing all available updates. Apparently, the new AMD driver just isn’t Windows 10 compatible yet. I’m just glad we can get back to our unit study discussions without any issues.

 

About 2aprilkids

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

About 2AprilKids Momma

Hi, I'm April Momma. I am a stay-at-home mother of 2 awesome kids and like all moms I wear multiple hats. Most days I'd like to think I wear all of them well at all times but that's a joke. I get by the best I can and that's the truth. Aside from being a mother I am a wife, pretty good cook, good intermediate seamstress, musician, music lover and blogger.

